• Welcome to the RTS HQ Community Hub. Join us to discuss your favourite real-time strategy games! Enjoy exclusive insights from indie devs, participate in tournaments, and explore discussion forums - all focused on real-time strategy. Register now and become part of a welcoming community built by RTS gamers, for RTS gamers.

What makes RTS games so enjoyable?

eLdavis

Gets mad then gets over it
I am still pretty new to the world of RTS gameplay, but I have a friend who has been playing for years now, he always talks about RTS with so much joy and he could actually play it for hours, it got me curious on what actually makes RTS enjoyable? I would like to hear your personal experience on this aspect.

I'm too old to play FPS games now. I just don't have the reflexes to make critical moves fast enough. RTS is a slower pace and seeing your plans come to fruition (or not!) has always been fascinating to me. I love to take my time on campaign missions, building up overwhelming forces or using clever strategies to win.

Most RTS players love the game's competitive nature and the opportunity to use their strong strategic, problem-solving, and decision-making skills. They also appreciate immersing themselves in the game. Like you, I am quite new to RTS games. Even though I have played a few RTS games before, I do not play them frequently so I consider myself kind of new to RTS games. However, I appreciate it, particularly if I win. LOL. I am kind of slow when it comes to making decisions and using the controls so I do not enjoy its fast-paced nature that much.

With RTS games, you are rest assured that you won't be rushed by how fast the gameplay is. So, you get to enjoy every moment of the game, which is quite good and impressive. This is one of the benefits of playing RTS games.

That really depends on the game, @Noobslayer

Try StarCraft 2 in a pro-league the speed of APM is out of this world.