• Welcome to the RTS HQ Community Hub. Join us to discuss your favourite real-time strategy games! Enjoy exclusive insights from indie devs, participate in tournaments, and explore discussion forums - all focused on real-time strategy. Register now and become part of a welcoming community built by RTS gamers, for RTS gamers.

How good are you in management of resources in RTS games

The General

All warfare is based on deception
Management of resources is one of the key strategies you have to learn when playing any RTS games. If you don't know how to manage resources very well, you will find it very difficult to do better in the other department of the game.

Do you manage resources effectively in RTS games?

I guess I'm pretty skilled at resource management in RTS games. I focus on balancing, gathering, expanding, and spending efficiently, which helps me to keep my economy strong. Generally speaking, I never run out of crucial resources during key moments.

Before I started playing RTS games at all, I knew that it is majorly about management skills. Even though I made some mistakes in the beginning, it was all for the valuable lessons.

I'm not really that good at it. So far my solution to resource management problems has been to acquire more resources.

Admittedly I'm not really that good at managing resources in real life, so having to manage resources in a game is a helpful learning tool. At least when I make another atrocious in-game blunder of upgrading the wrong thing at the wrong time, again, I don't have as much dire consequences as failing to allocate my limited time and money into some particular thing that I forgot about to avoid another crisis irl. I'm better at military strategy than resource management and timing of upgrades. I'll figure it out.